Get On-Demand Now

Award Criteria

The OZTek Awards recognise five main areas of achievement and are:

Media Excellence

Click here to Nominate for Media Excellence


For ongoing promotion of ocean awareness and the diving industry, technical or otherwise.

Previous Recipients:
Michael Menduno / Jill Heinerth / Richard Vevers

Industry Recognition Award

Click here to Nominate for Industry Recognition Award


To acknowledge diving Industry members whose individual efforts have often had a far-reaching impact on the advancement and growth of diving.

Previous Recipients:
Rob Cason / Simon Mitchell (NZ) / Richard Nicholls / Barry Hallett / Tony Davis / Barry Andrewartha / Terry Cummins / Col McKenzie / Jayne Jenkins / Richard Taylor (NZ) / Warrick McDonald / Richard Evans / Jane Bowman / David Strike

Outstanding Achievement Award

Click here to Nominate Outstanding Achievement


To recognise deserving individuals whose achievements embody the spirit of diving advancement, adventure, exploration and teamwork.

Previous recipients:
Kevin Denlay / Ron Allum / Andrew Wight / Chris Brown / Dr Mark Spencer / Dr Richard Harris / Steve Trewavas / Mervyn Maher / Pete Mesley (NZ) / John Dalla-Zuanna / Scott Willan

Technical Diver of the Year

Click here to Nominate for Technical Diver of the Year


For continued outstanding achievements in underwater exploration (includes elements of teamwork, mentoring and inspiration).

Previous Recipients:
David Apperley / Paul Hosie / Trevor Jackson / Samir Alhafith / Craig Challen / Sandy Varin / Liam Allen / Lance Robb / Richard Harris / Ryan Kaczkowski

Emerging Explorer Award

Click here to Nominate for Emerging Explorer Award


Under 35 years of age
Acknowledgement of an up-and-coming diver for their contribution to exploration, research or training in the spirit of team work and community. Considerations: Level of diving skill displayed. Role in diving activity (i.e. safety diver, actual explorer etc.), nature of divers’ community attitude (e.g. those who volunteer for everything in order to dive).

Previous Recipients:
Tom Crisp / Stephen Fordyce

Recipients of the OZTek 2019 Awards

Celebrating the achievements and accomplishments of Australia's leading Divers and Dive Industry personnel - people who have helped push back the boundaries of knowledge and exploration, and whose efforts lead to the development and use of new diving technologies.

The presentation of the OZTek Awards is a much-anticipated aspect of OZTek and the concluding Decompression Party.

If you know someone deserving of an OZTek award – it's important you nominate them - please see the award criteria above and Click here to Nominate.

NOTE: If nominees are not felt to have fulfilled the Award criteria, the OZTek Awards Panel reserves the right to withhold the award.